

Southwestern Oklahoma State University **SWOSU Digital Commons**

Everett Dobson School of Business and Technology

Departmental Histories

3-2-2021

Historical SWOSU Information

Patsy Parker Southwestern Oklahoma State University, Patsy.parker@icloud.com

Ric Baugher Southwestern Oklahoma State University

Follow this and additional works at: https://dc.swosu.edu/dobson



Part of the Higher Education Commons

Recommended Citation

Parker, Patsy and Baugher, Ric, "Historical SWOSU Information" (2021). Everett Dobson School of Business and Technology. 1.

https://dc.swosu.edu/dobson/1

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Departmental Histories at SWOSU Digital Commons. It has been accepted for inclusion in Everett Dobson School of Business and Technology by an authorized administrator of SWOSU Digital Commons. An ADA compliant document is available upon request. For more information, please contact phillip.fitzsimmons@swosu.edu.

SWOSU Name Changes

(Information from Dr. Ric Baugher, faculty member in Engineering Technology Department who taught 42 years, retired in 2017, then taught one more year as an adjunct)

1901-1920 - Southwestern Normal School

1920-1939 – Southwestern State Teachers College

1939-1941 – Southwestern State College of Diversified Occupations

1941-1949 - Southwestern Institute of Technology

1949-1974 - Southwestern State College

1974-present – Southwestern Oklahoma State University

Past Leadership of SWOSU's Business School/Department

Department of Business

1949-1976 (27 years) – Dr. W. W. Ward, Department Head 1976-1982 (6 years) – Dr. Roger Egerton, Department Chair/Dean

School of Business

Name changed between 1975 and 1978

1982-1987 (5 years) - Dr. Joe Anna Hibler, Dean

1987-1990 (3 years) - Dr. Randy Russell, Dean

1990-1991 (2 years) - Dr. Harry Nowka, Dean

1991-1992 (1 year) – Dr. Robert Reeder, Dean

1992-2000 (8 years) - Dr. Jerry Kaufman, Dean

2000-2003 (3 years) - Dr. Ralph May, Dean

2003-2009 (6 years) - Dr. Larry McKee, Associate Dean

Everett Dobson School of Business and Technology

Name changed in 2006; the School included business, computer science, and engineering technology programs

2009-2015 (6 years) - Dr. Les Crall, Associate Dean

2015-2022 (7 years) - Dr. Patsy Parker, Associate Dean

Past Leadership of SWOSU's Engineering Technology Program/Department

(Information from Dr. Ric Baugher, faculty member in Engineering Technology Department who taught for 42 years, retired in 2017, then taught one more year as an adjunct)

SWOSU's "Technology" Program/Department

Manual Training Department:

1905-1910 – J. P. Whitcomb

1910-1913 – Robert Lee Clayton

1914-1919 – Department was discontinued

1919-1920 - John Foster Lance

1920-1932 - William E. Phillips

1932-1936 - Department was discontinued

Industrial Arts Department:

1936-1943 - W. A. Scott

1943-1945 – Joe Ables

1945-1970 - John Cermack

1970-1980 - James Griffin

Technology Department:

1980-1998 - Donald Mitchell

1999-2008 - Gary Bell

Industrial and Engineering Technology Department:

Name changed in 2006

2008 - 2017 - Brad Bryant

Engineering Technology Department:

Name changed in 2010

2017 – 2018 – Dr. Patsy Parker, interim Department Chair

Computer Science and Engineering Technology (CSET) Department:

Name changed in Fall 2018

2018-2019 - Dr. Patsy Parker, Department Chair

CSET Department consisted of three programs:

- 1. Computer Science with options in computer science and information systems
- 2. Engineering Technology with options in Manufacturing, Computer Electronics, and Environmental
- 3. Applied Engineering Management with options in Manufacturing and Electronics. Prior to 2018, this major was called Industrial Technology.

Engineering Technology Department:

Name changed back to previous name in Fall 2019 (Engineering Technology and Computer Science became two separate departments)

2019-2020 – Nathan Brooks, Department Chair

2020-present - Nathan Brooks, Department Chair