

The University of Oklahoma College of Pharmacy College Highlights — June 2021

College-Led COVID-19 Vaccine Initiative We're pleased to provide this small summary of our efforts during the past six months.

Thank you to each and every faculty, staff, alumni, and student who supported our College of Pharmacy-led COVID-19 vaccine efforts both in the clinics and behind-the-scenes. Our vaccination campaign would not have been a success without you!

OU COLLEGE OF PHARMACY-LED COVID-19 VACCINE INITIATIVE		
45	Clinics	
232	Hours	
25,519	Doses	
226	COP Volunteers	
6,665	Volunteer Hours	

College Receives US Courthouse Flags



Health volunteers involved in this project.

The college administered nearly 500 COVID-19 vaccinations to Western District of Oklahoma judges and court employees.

Recently, the Western District presented Eric Johnson and Kevin Rinaldi with framed, retired flags that flew over the U.S. Courthouse. Eric and Kevin accepted the flags on behalf of the many college faculty, staff and students and OU

Dean Inducted into Hall of Fame for Oklahoma



The Oklahoma Higher Education Heritage Society welcomed Dean JoLaine Draugalis into the Hall of Fame Class for 2020. Because of COVID-19, this class will be celebrated on Nov. 2, 2021.

Each year since 1994, the Oklahoma Higher Education Heritage Society has recognized individuals, living and deceased, whose achievement and leadership in scholarship, teaching, research, administration, staff support, outreach and public service have brought honor and distinction to higher education in our state by inducting them into the Oklahoma Higher Education Hall of Fame. To date, more than 200 men and women have been so honored.

APhA Honorary Membership Eric J. Johnson, senior associate dean for administration & finance, received an honorary membership to APhA and was recognized at the annual meeting this past March. The APhA Awards and Honors Program is the profession's most comprehensive recognition program. He is recognized for his dedication to student pharmacists through his role at the College of Pharmacy. He has also provided time and service to APhA and the AACP and has had a significant impact on pharmacy education and practice.



Congratulations, Dr. O'Neal



The HSC Student Government Association Robert A. Magarian Faculty Award was presented to Dr. Katherine O'Neal. This award honors a faculty member students consider to be outstanding in the areas of teaching, mentoring, service activities or professional activities, and representing the same characteristics exhibited by Dr. Magarian, HSC professor emeritus and active community leader. Congratulations, Dr. O'Neal!

Spring Faculty Awards Announced

The OU Health Sciences Center presented the Spring Faculty Awards on April 28. We're pleased to announce the following college honorees for this year:

Presidential Professorship: Shanjana Awasthi, Ph.D., Professor of Pharmaceutical Sciences

Presidential Professorship: Michael J. Smith, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Pharmacy: Clinical and Administrative Sciences

Provost's Teaching Award (Early Career Faculty): Wei Yue, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Pharmaceutical Sciences

Educator of the Year (Pharmacy Class of 2021): Misty Miller, Pharm.D., Associate Professor of Pharmacy: Clinical and Administrative Sciences

New Grants Awarded

- Dr. Dongin Kim, assistant professor, Dept. of Pharmaceutical Sciences: subaward with Texas A&M University Health Science Center "Lymphatics and Lymphangiogenesis in Kidney Function and Inflammation."
- Dr. Anthony Burgett, associate professor, Dept. of Pharmaceutical Sciences: R01 Award with NIH / National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases.
 "Cellular Mechanism of Oxysterol-Binding Protein (OSBP) in Viral Proliferation: A Chemical Biology Approach."
- Dr. Chang-Sun Kang, postdoctoral fellow (Dr. Kim's laboratory), Dept. of Pharmaceutical Sciences: Trainee Research Award, Stephenson Cancer Center. "GSH-Depleting Pro-Oxidant-Loaded Exosomes for MDR Cancer Therapy."

Issuance of Patent

Molecular Targeting Technologies Inc (MTTI) announced the issuance of US patent #10,953,113. Dr. Vibhu Awasthi is the inventor of a new PET imaging agent for rapid monitoring tumor response to therapy. Congratulations, Dr. Awasthi!

Upcoming White Coat Ceremony

OU College of Pharmacy will host a white coat ceremony for the classes of 2024 **and** 2025 on Aug. 18 in Nicholson Tower Auditorium on the OUHSC campus. We anticipate having two separate ceremonies back-to-back. More information will be provided at a later date.

Changes to the Student Affairs Office





Congratulations to Dr. Jane Wilson as the new Dean of the College of Allied Health and Dr. Michael Smith as the Associate Dean for Academic and Student Affairs, College of Pharmacy!