Two SWOSU Students Receive NASA Space Grant Scholarships

01.29.2007

Southwestern Oklahoma State University senior Matt Thomason of Clinton is one of two SWOSU students who have been selected to receive NASA Space Grant Scholarships. Congratulating Thomason are Madeline Baugher, interim chair of the SWOSU Department of Computer Science & Information Systems, and faculty mentor Dr. Warren Moseley.

Southwestern Oklahoma State University junior Cammi Valdez of Enid is one of two SWOSU students who have been selected to receive NASA Space Grant Scholarships. Congratulating Valdez are faculty mentor Dr. William Kelly and Madeline Baugher, interim chair of the SWOSU Department of Computer Science & Information Systems.

Southwestern Oklahoma State University students Cammi Valdez of Enid and Matt Thomason of Clinton have been selected to receive NASA Space Grant Scholarships.

The scholarship awards are based on research that the students have performed in the past.

Valdez, who is a junior with a double major in Chemistry and Mathematics at SWOSU, has research entitled "A Study of Heme Deficiency in Zebrafish". Her SWOSU faculty mentor is Dr. William Kelly of the Department of Chemistry and Physics.

Thomason, a senior who is majoring in computer science, has work in the area of "Using the NASA Space Program in the Creation of Standards Based Math and Science Lessons for Public School Teachers". His faculty mentor is Dr. Warren Moseley of the Department of Computer Science and Information Systems.

SWOSU is a member of the NASA Oklahoma Space Grant Consortium, which provides scholarship funds for students in science and technology areas at member institutions. SWOSU matches these funds with an equivalent amount of its own. Scholarship recipients are required to perform volunteer service at the Stafford Space Museum or other appropriate community service organization.

Madeline Baugher, interim chair of the SWOSU Department of Computer Science & Information Systems, said research scholarships are available during the spring semester of 2007.