

Southwestern Oklahoma State University SWOSU Digital Commons

Faculty Senate Minutes

Faculty Senate

8-31-2001

August 31, 2001 Minutes

SWOSU Faculty Senate

Follow this and additional works at: https://dc.swosu.edu/fsminutes

Part of the Adult and Continuing Education Commons, Higher Education Commons, and the Higher Education Administration Commons

Recommended Citation

SWOSU Faculty Senate, "August 31, 2001 Minutes" (2001). *Faculty Senate Minutes*. 31. https://dc.swosu.edu/fsminutes/31

This Minutes is brought to you for free and open access by the Faculty Senate at SWOSU Digital Commons. It has been accepted for inclusion in Faculty Senate Minutes by an authorized administrator of SWOSU Digital Commons. An ADA compliant document is available upon request. For more information, please contact phillip.fitzsimmons@swosu.edu.

August 31, 2001 **UNAPPROVED** Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes

I. CALL TO ORDER AND ESTABLISH QUORUM:

George Alsbach, Ric Baugher, David Bessinger, Kathy Brooks, Nancy Buddy-Penner, Stephen Burgess, Les Crall, Tommye Davis, Sylvia Esjornson, Elizabeth Ferrell, Cynthia Foust, Mark Gales, Jeff Gentry, John Hayden, Faye Henson, David Hertzel, Robin Jones, Debbie Keasler, David Lawrence, Kelley Logan, Don McGurk, Steven O'Neal, Gus Ortega, Nelson Perkins, Shelly Prince, Stan Robertson, Ken Rose, James South, Richard C. Henriksen, Jr., Ben Welch, and Andrea Ward (Student Senate Representative).

II. CERTIFICATION OF SUBSTITUTES:

Richard C. Henriksen, Jr. for Ronna Vanderslice

III. APPROVAL OF MINUTES: The July 27, 2001 minutes were approved with no corrections.

IV. ANNOUNCEMENTS

- A. FS President: Les Crall
 - 1. Inauguration Ceremony for President John Hays will be held on December 5, 2001 at 3 pm in the Fine Arts Auditorium. Vicki Hatton is chairing the Inauguration Committee. Faculty is encouraged to attend. Reception following. Faculty may order regalia for this event from Follett's Bookstore and may keep the regalia through the May commencement exercises.
 - 2. Dr. Crall clarified several items discussed in the COD meetings:
 - a. Leave sharing policy -- COD made some changes related to limits, however they approved most of the changes offered by Faculty Senate. Policy will be posted on the web when approved by President Hays.
 - b. Grievance policy-COD have taken this under advisement again. They are discussing the current document proposed by Faculty Senate as well as examining what other universities are doing.
 - c. There is a Legal Issues in Higher Education conference at Norman October 3 & 4 that the administration and faculty are encouraged to attend.
 - d. Dr. Crall presented President Hays's proposal enabling retiring faculty to receive benefits earlier. (Handout 1)
 - e. Dr. Crall presented the handout #2 of Examination of Retirement Benefits and Solicitations for improvements. (Handout 2)
 - f. Dr. Crall announced gleanings from meeting with Provost Becker, John Hayden, & Faye Henson
 - University of Oklahoma School of Health Sciences is offering a BS degree in Dental Hygiene via electronic delivery. Murray State College has new certificate programs in Medical Office Transcriptionist and Medical Office Coding.
 - Northeastern Oklahoma A & M College is offering an Associate of Art in Early Childhood Education.
 - SWOSU has suspended two certificate programs in Applied Science in Medical Assistant and Medical Technology.
 - 3. AAUP-Dr. Jill Jones, SWOSU Chapter President
 - announced a conference in October in Washington DC at Howard University.
 - Offered a journal article to faculty to read entitled "Good Practice in Tenure Evaluation". Les had copy for interested faculty to read.
 - Announced the need for faculty co-sponsors to Alpha Phi Omega, a new service fraternity. Contact Dr. Jill Jones of your interest.
- B. Secretary/Treasurer: Cindy Foust
 - 1. Roll Sheet-circulated.

- 2. Treasurer's Report: A deposit of \$715.00 was made to Banc First, Faculty Senate checking account from the faculty senate dues. This brings the total of this account to \$1573.04. In the University account there is \$647.28. No expenditures were made. Discussion focused that the dues collected was less than 2000-2001, approximately \$100.00.
- C. President Elect: John Hayden
 - 1. HEACO status-The application forms will be distributed in September.
- D. Student Government Representative: Andrea Ward

September 4& 5 is the SGA officer elections.

Also that week the Council of Organizational Presidents will meet.

September 17 & 18, first blood drive, located in the Ballroom.

Leadership Retreat is Sept 28.

Dr. Bellows, Hypnotist, is scheduled for the Panorama event in October.

V. Old Business

- A. FS to meet at Sayre (Tabled from July meeting, suggested date March 29). Faculty Senate selected December 14 to hold the Faculty Senate meeting at Sayre. This will be held via interactive video also from the School of Education for those Faculty Senators who have other university responsibilities.
- B. NCA Final Report is on the web.
- C. Faculty Senate Web page. Thanks to Chip Diffendaffer who continues to do a wonderful job. Chip will be contacted to correct the membership on the web page. The Senate also requested that inactive links be added with current minutes as available, along with the meeting dates.

VI. New Business

- A. Election of School of Business representative to University Computer/Telecommunications Advisory Committee (see Faculty Handbook pages 24 & 25). Denise Hamburger will complete the one-year unexpired term of Max White.
- B. Changes to Promotion and Tenure timeline (see Faculty Handbook page 61)

The following motion was made and seconded:

FS Motion 2001-08-01

Dept. Committee: Completes feedback to candidates and forwards files and recommendations to the Department Chair by December 10th.

Chair: Completes feedback to candidates and forwards files and recommendations to the Dean by end of the Fall semester.

Dean: Completes feedback to candidates and forwards files and recommendations to UPTRC by 3rd week of January.

Motion passed.

- C. Selection of University Promotion Tenure Review and Appeals Committee members. (Deadline for selection is 3rd Friday of September)
 - · Ric Baugher is the contact person for School of A & S for member selection.

- D. Traffic Appeals Committee—David Hertzel has been selected to represent the faculty on this three-person committee.
- E. A faculty senator raised an issue related to the process of delivery tenure and promotion committee decisions.

FS Motion 2001-08-02

A motion was made and seconded to send this to Personnel Policies Committee for review. The committee is to consider how the candidate is to be contacted. This committee will also review the timeline. Discussion included whether the candidate needed to submit the T & P documents earlier. The motion passed.

- F. University Policies Committee is to consider Handout #2—Retirement benefits.
- G. University Policies Committee will examine adjunct personnel employment issues.

FS Motion 2001-08-03

H. A motion was made and seconded to purchase another brick (\$50) with "Faculty Senate—2001-2002" printed.

This motion passed.

VII. ADJOURNMENT

Meeting adjourned at 2:53 pm.

Next Faculty Senate meeting: September 28, 2001 STF 104 2:00 p.m.

Les Crall,	Cynthia Foust,
Faculty Senate President	Secretary/Treasurer

Quote of the Month: "People you aren't related to can take care of you, and love you, and teach you to trust people again. Families are not always biological."

Unknown author