

# Southwestern Oklahoma State University SWOSU Digital Commons

**Faculty Senate Minutes** 

**Faculty Senate** 

8-30-2002

# August 30, 2002 Minutes

SWOSU Faculty Senate

Follow this and additional works at: https://dc.swosu.edu/fsminutes

Part of the Adult and Continuing Education Commons, Higher Education Commons, and the Higher Education Administration Commons

#### **Recommended Citation**

SWOSU Faculty Senate, "August 30, 2002 Minutes" (2002). *Faculty Senate Minutes*. 42. https://dc.swosu.edu/fsminutes/42

This Minutes is brought to you for free and open access by the Faculty Senate at SWOSU Digital Commons. It has been accepted for inclusion in Faculty Senate Minutes by an authorized administrator of SWOSU Digital Commons. An ADA compliant document is available upon request. For more information, please contact <a href="mailto:phillip.fitzsimmons@swosu.edu">phillip.fitzsimmons@swosu.edu</a>.

### **UNapproved Minutes**

Faculty Senate Meeting 30 August 2002

I. CALL TO ORDER AND ESTABLISH QUORUM: The August 30, 2002 meeting of the Faculty Senate was called to order at 2:05 PM in Stafford 104 with FS President John Hayden presiding. The following members were present: George Alsbach, Fred Alsberg, Ric Baugher, David Bessinger, Nancy Buddy-Penner, Stephen Burgess, Les Crall, Tommye Davis, Michael Dougherty,

Elizabeth Ferrell, Cynthia Foust, Mark Gales, Terry Goforth, John Hayden, Todd Helton, David Hertzel, Jason Johnson, Kelley Logan, Andrew Marvick, Don McGurk, Nina Morris, Steven O'Neal, Gus Ortega, Marion Prichard, Shelly Prince, James South, Bill Swartwood, Charles Teasley, Karen Travis, and Ronna Vanderslice.

- II. CERTIFICATION OF SUBSTITUTES: None.
- III. PRESENTATION OF VISITORS: None
- **IV. APPROVAL OF MINUTES** (FS Hand-out 2002-08-01): A motion was made and seconded to approve the July, 2002 Minutes. The following correction was moved: add Ric Baugher's name to the list of those present. The minutes, as corrected, were approved.

#### V. ANNOUNCEMENTS:

- A. FS President Hayden: The Administrative and Executive Councils did not meet in August. No new reports from the COD. The Faculty Senate has purchased a brick for the Clocktower for the 2002-2003 year. The Provost's Office has offered to finance the awards for the Faculty Senate's annual Faculty Recognition honors.
- B. FS Secretary/Treasurer Hertzel:
  - 1. Roll Sheet
  - 2. Treasurer's Report: BancFirst Checking Account: \$1,621.93. University Account: \$510.19.
- C. FS President Elect Foust: HEACO information has been passed out for senators to distribute to their departments
- D. FS Past President Crall: Is working on report of last year's Faculty Senate's activity.
- E. Student Government Representative Mollie Priest: No report.

## VI. REPORTS FROM STANDING AND AD HOC COMMITTEES:

- A. Nominating Committee: Ms. Jane Flett was elected to the Academic Appeals Committee. Dr. Don McGurk was elected to the Web Policy Committee. Dr. Nina Morris was elected to the Continuing Education Committee.
- B. Student Affairs Committee on Club Sports Policy (FS Hand-out 2002-06-07): The committee has met with Dean Woods for clarification of several issues, and will meet with her again.

#### VII. UNFINISHED BUSINESS:

A. 5 Names from Each School for Deans to present to Chairs for Provost's UPTRC consideration. (FS Hand-out 2002-08-02)

The following motion was made and seconded:

FS Motion 2002-08-01 that the following changes be made to pages 50 & 51 of the on-line Faculty Handbook: Replace all of Section 4 with the following:

4. The University Promotion/Tenure Review Committee

The committee shall be composed of two (2) faculty members from each school. The members shall be selected in the following manner:

- a. The Faculty Senators from each School shall meet by the third Friday in September and select a slate of five (5) faculty members from the school who meet the minimum requirements of tenure, rank of assistant professor and seven (7) years experience at SWOSU. Faculty with administrative appointments of Chair, or higher, those having served on the committee the previous year, and those applying for promotion/tenure are not eligible. If these requirements prohibit a school from submitting a slate of five (5) faculty, the requirements will be lowered in the following order:
  - 1. The tenure requirement is removed.
  - 2. Service on the committee the previous year is removed.
  - 3. A slate of only four (4) is submitted.
  - 4. A slate of only three (3) is submitted.
- 5. If there are fewer than three (3) candidates due to an eligible candidate refusing to serve, then only the remaining eligible candidates are submitted.
- 6. If there are fewer than three (3) candidates and all eligible candidates have agreed to serve, then the Faculty Senators from that school shall submit a plan to the Provost for filling the vacancy(ies) to attain a list of three (3) candidates. Once an acceptable plan is agreed upon, the slate of three (3) candidates will be submitted.
- b. The department chairs in each school shall select three (3) faculty members from the slate submitted. In instances where a slate of three (3) or fewer candidates is submitted to the chair, then all candidates will be automatically selected. The names so selected shall be forwarded to the Provost by the last week in September.
- c. The Provost shall select two (2) faculty members from the slate of three (3) submitted by each school.

The following amendment was made and seconded:

1<sup>st</sup> Amendment to FS Motion 2002-08-01 that under "a," the following be added as "1:" "Reduce the number of years of SWOSU service to 4 completed years," and then renumber all the subsequent items as 2 through 7.

The amendment failed.

The following amendment was made and seconded:

2<sup>nd</sup> Amendment to FS Motion 2002-08-01 that under "4.a.6," after the words "shall submit a plan" and before the words "to the Provost," add "to the full senate for approval, and then"

The amendment failed.

The motion carried.

B. Revised Post-Tenure Review Procedures from COD (FS Hand-out 2002-06-06).

The following motion was made and seconded:

FS Motion 2002-08-02 that the Post-Tenure Review Procedure be approved.

The following amendment was made and seconded:

1<sup>st</sup> Amendment to FS Motion 2002-08-02 that the second sentence under "A," be replaced with: "Newly tenured faculty must be evaluated no later than their third vear in tenure."

The amendment carried.

The following amendment was made and seconded:

2<sup>nd</sup> Amendment to FS Motion 2002-08-02 that the last sentence under "C" be replaced with the following: "The faculty member may appeal to the department faculty for input before a copy of the plan is submitted to the Dean for informational purposes."

The amendment carried.

The motion, as amended by the 1<sup>st</sup> and 2<sup>nd</sup> amendments, was referred to the FS Personnel Policies Committee for a recommendation at the next FS meeting.

#### VIII. NEW BUSINESS:

A. On-Line Student Evaluations of Faculty.

The following motion was made and seconded:

FS Motion 2002-08-03 that faculty continue to be given the choice of paper or on-line student evaluations.

The motion carried.

- B. Other:
  - 1. Faculty are asked to sign up for the State Fair Booth
- **IX. ADJOURNMENT:** With no further business before it, the meeting adjourned at 3:18PM

Next Faculty Senate Meeting: September 27, 2002 Place: STF 104 Time: 2PM

\_\_\_\_\_

John K. Hayden FS President

David Hertzel FS Secretary-Treasurer