

Southwestern Oklahoma State University SWOSU Digital Commons

Faculty Senate Minutes

Faculty Senate

4-18-2003

April 18, 2003 Minutes

SWOSU Faculty Senate

Follow this and additional works at: https://dc.swosu.edu/fsminutes

Part of the Adult and Continuing Education Commons, Higher Education Commons, and the Higher Education Administration Commons

Recommended Citation

SWOSU Faculty Senate, "April 18, 2003 Minutes" (2003). *Faculty Senate Minutes*. 50. https://dc.swosu.edu/fsminutes/50

This Minutes is brought to you for free and open access by the Faculty Senate at SWOSU Digital Commons. It has been accepted for inclusion in Faculty Senate Minutes by an authorized administrator of SWOSU Digital Commons. An ADA compliant document is available upon request. For more information, please contact phillip.fitzsimmons@swosu.edu.

April 18, 2003 Unapproved Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes

I. CALL TO ORDER AND ESTABLISH QUORUM:

The April 18, 2003 meeting of the Faculty Senate was called to order at 2:00 PM in Stafford 104 with FS President Elect Cynthia Foust presiding. The following members were present:

George Alsbach, Ric Baugher, David Bessinger, Nancy Buddy-Penner, Stephen Burgess, Les Crall, Tommye Davis, Michael Dougherty, Elizabeth Ferrell, Cynthia Foust, Mark Gales, Terry Goforth, Todd Helton, Jason Johnson, Robin Jones, Kelley Logan, Andrew Marvick, Gus Ortega, Marion Prichard, James South, Bill Swartwood, and Karen Travis.

II. CERTIFICATION OF SUBSTITUTES:

Les Ramos for Shelly Prince, Don Wilson for Ronna Vanderslice

III. PRESENTATION OF VISITORS:

None

IV. APPROVAL OF MINUTES (FS Hand-out 2003-04-01):

Minutes of the March 28^{th} , 2003 were approved without any additions or corrections.

V. ANNOUNCEMENTS:

A. FS President Elect Foust: Report on COD and meeting with Provost Becker.

B. FS Secretary/Treasurer Hertzel: Report given by acting secretary Les Crall.

- 1. Roll Sheet was circulated.
- 2. Treasurer's Report: BancFirst Checking Account Balance:

\$1,383.39

University Account Balance: \$329.07.

C. FS President Elect Foust: The Faculty Senate congratulates Dr. Les Crall as the most recent recipient of the Bernhardt Academic Excellence Award

- D. FS Past President Crall: no report
- E. Student Government Representative: absent

VI. REPORTS FROM STANDING AND AD HOC COMMITTEES:

A. Nominating Committee: Faculty Senate elections of faculty to university committees and Faculty Senate positions. Nomination Committee: Chairman Prichard announced the results of the election:

President Elect: James South Secretary/Treasurer: Nancy Buddy-Penner Academic Advisory & Scholarship Council: Ric Baugher 3 year term. Jim Long 3 year term, Gus Ortega 3 year term, Marion Prichard 2 vear term. Academic Appeals Committee: Melody Ashenfelter, Arden Aspedon, Brian Campbell, Les Crall, Bill Kelly, Chad Kinder, Kelly Logan, Karen McGurk, Gus Ortega, Mike Wheeler. **Appellate Committee on Dismissal of Tenured Faculty: (FS** nominates 8 from which tenured faculty elect 4) Patti Albaugh, Brian Campbell, Bill Kelley, Scott Long, Helen Maxson, Gus Ortega, Charles Rogers, Mike Wheeler. (Chairman Prichard will submit ballot of Appellate Committee on Dismissal of Tenured Faculty Members to tenured faculty at-large for their vote on final four (4) members.) Benefits Committee: Teri Stubbs, Nancy Buddy-Penner. Campus Environmental Committee: Karen McGurk. Distinguished Alumni Selection Committee: Terry Goforth. Faculty Development Committee: Robin Jones, Scott Long, Karen Travis. Jerry Dunn, Karen Sweeney. Faculty Research/Scholarly Activities Committee: Jason Johnson. Financial Assistance Advisory & Appeals Committee: Vicki Falconer. Intellectual Property Committee: Brian Campbell, Jane Flett. Student Center Policy Forming Board: Terri Stubbs, Mattie Tollev

VII. UNFINISHED BUSINESS: None

VIII. NEW BUSINESS:

A. The following motion was made and seconded:

FS Motion: 2003-04-01. For promotion purposes, the departmental committee shall consist of tenured faculty at or above the rank of the candidate for promotion (For example: The promotion committee for a candidate for full professor should consist of only tenured, associate and/or full professors.)"

The motion was tabled to the May agenda.

B. The following motion was made and seconded:

FS Motion: 2003-04-02.

For promotion purposes, the department committee shall consist of all tenured faculty above the rank of the candidate for promotion excluding the chair of the department and any other candidates for promotion to the same rank.

In the event that a department is not able to form a committee of at least three members, additional members are selected by the following methods, in order, until a committee of at least three is obtained.

1. Tenured departmental faculty at the rank of the candidate for promotion.

2. All department tenured faculty at or above the rank of the candidate for promotion shall submit a plan to select additional members to produce a committee of three that is acceptable to the dean of the school.

3. The chief academic officer shall appoint tenured faculty above the rank of the candidate from other departments to produce a committee of three.

The motion was tabled to the May agenda

C. The following motion was made and seconded:

FS Motion: 2003-04-03. The School of Education requests approval from the Faculty Senate to conduct online course and faculty evaluations by distance learning students for any faculty requesting the use of online surveys.

The motion passed.

IX. ADJOURNMENT:

With no further business, the meeting adjourned at 3:10 pm.

Next Faculty Senate meeting: May 2, 2003. Place: STF 104. Time: 2:00 PM.

Respectfully submitted,

Cynthia Foust, President Elect

Les Crall for,

for John Hayden President

David Hertzel, Secretary/Treasurer

Quote of the Month: "In difficult moments, behave like a duck.

Keep calm and unruffled on the surface, but keep paddling away like crazy underneath."