

9 June, 2020

## SWOSU Tri-Beta Chapter Named Tops in the Nation

Southwestern Oklahoma State University's Beta Beta Biology Honor Society in Weatherford has been chosen as the outstanding chapter in the nation and presented the Lloyd M. Bertholf Award.

The SWOSU Delta Sigma chapter was recently notified of the award for activities that took place during the 2018-19 academic year.

Notification of the award was by Dr. Steve Ropski, who serves as national president of Tri-Beta. The award was first established in 1961 by Lloyd M. Bertholf, the third president of Beta Beta and president of Illinois Wesleyan University.

The purpose of the award is to provide national and local recognition to the chapter that most nearly meets a series of criteria for program excellence: member activity in conducting and publishing research; participation in district and national conventions and other scientific meetings; chapter programming and activities; and orderly record keeping and communication with the national office. The application considers the number of members in each chapter thus allowing both large and small chapters to win the award.

Sponsors of the SWOSU chapter are Dr. Vijay Somalinga and Dr. Regina McGrane.

Academics	D
Administration	D
Alumni and Foundation	D
Community	D
Events	D
Faculty and Staff	D
Miscellaneous	D
Sayre	D
Students	D