

12 April, 2022

## SWOSU High Powered Rocketry Team wins 2022 Argonia Cup National Competition



Southwestern Oklahoma State University's Rocket Dawgs recently won the 2022 Argonia Cup, a national competition in high-power rocketry, held this past weekend in Argonia (KS). Members of the team are (front from left): Daniel Gassen (industry mentor), Kaitlyn Schrick, Chris Svebek (team captain), Andres Arrieta, Emma Bollinger, Jessica Massey and Riley Smith. Back from left–Mason Hart, Brock Mason (industry mentor), Ben Smith, Dr. Wayne Trail (faculty mentor), Tayler Valdez, and Dan Major (Oklahoma Tripoli Rocketry member).

Southwestern Oklahoma State University's Rocket Dawgs won the 2022 Argonia Cup, a national competition in high-power rocketry, held this past weekend in Argonia (KS).

The win is impressive after competing against 18 teams from across the nation that included teams from Oklahoma State University, University of Oklahoma, Auburn University, University of Missouri, Kansas State University and others.

The goal for the competition is to launch a rocket powered vehicle containing a golf ball payload to an altitude in excess of 8,000 feet and to recover the payload safely at a predetermined location on the rocket range. Closest distance to the target landing spot determined the winner, and SWOSU came out on top.

SWOSU improved on their 2021 performance when they finished second in the nation, losing in a close battle with a team from Oklahoma State University. In this year's competition, SWOSU got revenge, winning the competition while the team from OSU finished third.

Faculty mentor for the team is Dr. Wayne Trail of the SWOSU Chemistry & Physics Department. SWOSU students on the team were: Mason Hart, Brock Mason, (industry mentor), Ben Smith, Tayler Valdez, Dan Major (Oklahoma Tripoli Rocketry member), Daniel Gassen (industry mentor), Kaitlyn Schrick, Chris Svebek (team captain), Andres Arrieta, Emma Bollinger, Jessica Massey and Riley Smith.

The SWOSU Physics and Engineering Club Rocket Dawgs was funded primarily by the Oklahoma NASA Space Grant Consortium through Professor Madeline Baugher as well as by the SWOSU Department of Chemistry & Physics.

Academics	D
Administration	D
Alumni and Foundation	٥
Community	٥
Events	D
Faculty and Staff	٥
Miscellaneous	٥
Sayre	٥
Students	٥