

6 May, 2022

Nine SWOSU Students Awarded NASA Oklahoma Space Grant Internships for Summer 2022

Nine Southwestern Oklahoma State University students have been awarded internships for the 2022 summer from the NASA Oklahoma Space Grant program.

According to Madeline Baugher, SWOSU's program coordinator for the NASA Oklahoma Space Grant, the nine students were selected by faculty in computer science and engineering technology and will work at NASA, two Oklahoma companies and the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA).

Engineering technology students Kaitlyn Schrick of Frederick and Thomas Klassen of Lookeba-Sickles will work with NASA personnel from Langley Research Center on a Photo Archives Data Project. The photo archives span over 500,000 photo negatives and dates back to 1921. Throughout the last 100 years there have been various information systems implemented to capture / track information about the negatives in various formats. This project focuses on consolidating, curating and validating information gathered from the multitude of informational sources associated with these negatives.

Computer science student Oscar Garcia of Hydro-Eakly and engineering technology student Riley Smith of Arnett will spend their summer with Delaware Resources Group, a world-class company for aerospace defense training. The company is based in Oklahoma City and is headed by a SWOSU alum, Philip Busey.

Four students will work with ASRC Federal providing services to the Federal Aviation Administration at the Mike Monroney Aeronautical Center in Oklahoma City. Alexander Broyles of El Reno, Anthony Kelley of Oklahoma City (Westmoore), Garrett Parmer of Apache and Caleb Patton of Perryton (TX) are all computer science majors.

Engineering technology major Grayson Butcher of Elk City will intern with the FAA Flight Operations Simulation Laboratory. He will be involved in cutting-edge research at the Mike Monroney Aeronautical Center in Oklahoma City. Lab services enhance flight operations, standards, capacity and aviation safety to all branches of the federal government.