SWOSU President Receives Honorary Doctor of Pharmacy from OSBP

05.06.2011

SWOSU President Randy Beutler (third from left) was recently honored with an honorary pharmacy license from the Oklahoma State Board of Pharmacy during a ceremony on the Weatherford campus. Making the presentation were (from left): John Lassiter, Del City, member of OSBP; John Foust, executive director of OSBP; and Bryan Potter, Elk City, former OSBP executive director.

Southwestern Oklahoma State University President Randy Beutler was recently honored with an honorary pharmacy license from the Oklahoma State Board of Pharmacy during a ceremony on the Weatherford campus.

John Foust, executive director of the OSBP, made the presentation at the SWOSU College of Pharmacy Awards Ceremony. Also in attendance were OSBP member John Lassiter of Del City and OSBP former executive director Bryan Potter of Elk City. All three are SWOSU College of Pharmacy graduates.

Beutler received honorary Doctor of Pharmacy certificate number 1059. The Board awarded the honor in recognition of President Beutler's continuing support of the profession of pharmacy throughout his career.

The OSBP is a constitutional board that was created at statehood and took the place of the Indian Territory and Oklahoma Territory Boards of Pharmacy with the mission of protecting the health and safety of the citizens of the new state of Oklahoma. The tradition of the OSBP awarding an honorary Oklahoma Pharmacist Certificate to people who have been good friends of pharmacy began in the earliest days of statehood. Since 1907, just over 1,000 people have been awarded by the board.