SWOSU College of Pharmacy Hosts Professionalism Dinner

09.28.2011

James Kirk (fourth from left) of Edmond was recently the guest speaker at the SWOSU College of Pharmacy professionalism dinner held on the Weatherford campus. Among those attending the dinner were (from left) SWOSU President Randy Beutler; Patti Harper, alumni and development director for the SWOSU College of Pharmacy; Dr. David Ralph, associate dean of the SWOSU College of Pharmacy; Dr. Blake Sonobe, senior vice president and provost of SWOSU; Dr. Dennis Thompson, interim dean of the SWOSU College of Pharmacy; Dr. Mark Gales, pharmacy practice professor; Dr. Barry Gales, pharmacy practice interim chair and professor in the SWOSU College of Pharmacy; and Dr. Les Ramos, pharmaceutical sciences professor of the SWOSU College of Pharmacy.

Southwestern Oklahoma State University's College of Pharmacy recently held its 2nd annual pharmacy professionalism dinner with Dr. James Kirk of Edmond serving as keynote speaker.

Kirk is the district pharmacy supervisor for CVS Pharmacy and a 2006 graduate of the SWOSU College of Pharmacy.

The former Bulldog extolled the college and its faculty while offering students advice on how to interrelate knowledge and practice. He encouraged students to strive for the highest professional standards.

The SWOSU College of Pharmacy event is held to welcome both the incoming fall class and the incoming class from the prior spring. The dinner, sponsored by CVS Pharmacy, was organized by the professionalism committee, which is chaired by faculty member Dr. Kristin Montarella. Additional pharmacy faculty and students serving on the committee include faculty members: Drs. Jaehwa Choi, Jacqueline Gregory, Edna Patatanian, Hardeep Saluja, Diana Steinl, Virgil Van Dusen and students Kristen Koepping, John Thompson and Emily Scott.

The SWOSU College of Pharmacy is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education, the accrediting agency for Colleges of Pharmacy in the United States. The school is also a member of the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy.

The SWOSU College of Pharmacy offers a Doctor of Pharmacy (Pharm. D.) degree. Students must complete two years of pre-professional study, including general education courses, as well as prescriptive courses in biology, chemistry, physics and math. The pre-professional courses are followed by four years in the COP, including courses in the pharmaceutical sciences, pharmacy practice and an academic year of full-time experiential education and training.

Admission to the Pharm. D. program is very competitive and approximately 85 students are admitted annually.

Established in 1939, the SWOSU College of Pharmacy continues to be dedicated to the tradition of excellence in pharmacy education. The college will celebrate its 75th anniversary in 2014.