SWOSU School of Nursing Inducted into Honor Society

11.15.2007

Southwestern Oklahoma State University was recently welcomed into Sigma Theta Tau International, an honor society of nursing. Several SWOSU graduates were inducted into the organization as part of the ceremony, including (from left): Mary Jane Darnell, Lawton; Brenda Beck, Cheyenne; Victoria Goodwin, Yukon; Marquita Lindsey, Apache; Yvonne Smith, Elk City; Billie Stamm, Foss; and Michael Webb, Bartlesville.

Southwestern Oklahoma State University was recently welcomed into Sigma Theta Tau International, an honor society of nursing, at a ceremony held on the Weatherford campus.

SWOSU is now part of the Beta Delta Chapter-at-large that includes five other universities in Oklahoma.

Several SWOSU graduates were inducted into the organization as part of the ceremony.

"By giving our students the opportunity to become members of Sigma Theta Tau, they can be recognized on an international level as having achieved academic honor status in nursing," said Dr. Barbara Patterson, associate dean of the SWOSU School of Nursing.

Sigma Theta Tau is an international honor society for outstanding nursing students and professionals. The organization focuses on networking scholars of nursing to help enable better practice and education of nursing professionals.

Patterson said the School of Nursing would like to thank Betty Walters for her dedicated work to help bring Sigma Theta Tau to SWOSU.