SWOSU Students Receive NASA Grant Awards

12.07.2007

Southwestern Oklahoma State University students in Weatherford recently received scholarships and intern positions made possible by a \$12,000 grant from the Oklahoma Space Grant Consortium and the University of Oklahoma. The purpose of the awards is to create a highly-educated workforce trained to continue an ever-expanding aeronautics exploration program. Among the students who received fall awards are (front from left): Joel Kardokus, Kelly Fine, Cammi Valdez and Antionette Smith. Back from left-Anita Blankenship, director of SWOSU Office of Sponsored Programs; Abigal Ntreh; Garrett Scott; Henok Ermias; and Madeline Baugher, SWOSU instructor and program director.

Southwestern Oklahoma State University in Weatherford has received \$12,000 from the Oklahoma Space Grant Consortium and the University of Oklahoma to provide additional scholarships and intern positions to SWOSU students.

SWOSU is a partner with OSGC and OU to create a highly-educated workforce trained to continue an ever-expanding aeronautics exploration program. SWOSU and local business partners provide matching dollars for the program.

Students who received the fall awards are: Joshua Adkinson, Hobart; Tanea Danielle Bagwell, Clinton; Amy Cain, Indiahoma; Casey Cochran, Boise City; Henok Ermias, Weatherford; Kelly Fine, Dalhart, Texas; Neil Funwie, Weatherford; Lauren Gladden, Lawton; Kelly Groves, Marlow; Joel Kardokus, Lookeba-Sickles; Jessica Mengers, Mustang; Georgia Miller, Fletcher; Jimmy Maloy, Arapaho; Abigail Ntreh, Oklahoma City (Westmoore); Garrett Scott, Granite; Darlene Schroeder, Watonga; Antionette Smith, Tulsa; David Supeck, Tulsa; and Cammi Valdez, Enid.

The student scholarships are awarded to fund the students' research projects and provide student internships with local industries and non-profit organizations. The number of scholarships and the amount awarded are determined annually. Scholarships are awarded in both the fall and the spring so that more students have an opportunity to participate.

Madeline Baugher, instructor in the Department of Entrepreneurship and Computer Systems, is the grant's principal investigator and the internship director for SWOSU. Applications for the spring awards will be taken starting in January. Applications are available on the Department of Entrepreneurship and Computer Systems website at http://www.swosu.edu/academics/ace/compsci/nasa/grant.asp. The scholarship recipients are selected by a committee of SWOSU faculty including: Sue Ball, Department of Biological Sciences; Dr. Ric Baugher, Department of Industrial & Engineering Technology; Dr. Stephen Burgess, Department of Psychology; and Dr. William Kelly and Dr. Tony Stein, both in the Department of Chemistry and Physics.

The internship program is open to both graduate and undergraduate students. The internships are served locally at businesses like Hudson Technology Solutions, Inc., Stafford Air and Space Center, and the Johnson Space Center in Houston, Texas.